One of the simplest ways to start building your LinkedIn network is by connecting with folks that you already know in the real world. LinkedIn makes it easy to try to so by uploading your address book to LinkedIn – that way you’ll see who you have already got contact with within the ‘real world,’ which of these contacts are already on LinkedIn, and you’ll easily send them a call for participation to attach with you.
However, when uploading your address book to LinkedIn, use caution. One drawback to using this feature on LinkedIn – especially if you’re using the LinkedIn app on your tablet or phone – is that LinkedIn encourages you to then invite all of these contacts that you simply just uploaded to attach with you on LinkedIn and that they do so with prominent buttons. But if you’re like most lawyers, your address book will contain email addresses for adversaries, competitors, relations et al. that you simply might not necessarily want to attach with on LinkedIn. additionally, by sending this “mass invitation,” you’ve lost the chance to feature a private message to your invitation. Too many of us determine too late they’ve clicked the incorrect button and invitations are sent to every single person in their address book.
Thankfully, there’s something you’ll do about it – if you act quickly before the person you invited takes action on the invitation. LinkedIn allows you to withdraw invitations that haven’t yet been accepted. To do so, take the subsequent steps:
Go to your LinkedIn Inbox and click on “Sent” to ascertain the invitations you’ve got sent
Find any invitation that has not yet been accepted and click on the topic line of the message Click “Withdraw”
If you don’t see a “Withdraw” button once you click the topic line of the message, you won’t be ready to withdraw the invitation. But if you are doing withdraw, the recipient won’t be notified.
If it’s too late to withdraw and therefore the individual has already accepted your invitation to attach, you’ll always disconnect from them. Again, they won’t be notified that you’ve disconnected, but they’ll realize if they are going to your Profile and see that you simply are not any longer a primary level connection.
To disconnect from someone on LinkedIn, simply find their name in your list of LinkedIn Contacts (under the Network menu). once you hover your mouse over their name, you’ll see a variety of options – Tag (to add a tag to their contact information), Message (to send them a message through LinkedIn), and More. Click the down arrow next to More then click “Remove Connection.”